Southern Bells: Drew Holcomb & the Neighbors

As I mentioned in an earlier post this week, country music isn’t really my jam. But that gave me an idea for a new segment where I show you what exactly is my jam: Southern Bells (haha, get it?). I love sharing music with others and discovering new tunes too. So (at least) every month, I’ll feature some of my favorite Southern musicians and/or songs about the South.

For my first installment, I chose Drew Holcomb & the Neighbors. If you compressed the state of Tennessee into a sound, I’m pretty sure it would be this. They’ve been making music since 2005, but I finally got to see them live a couple years ago in Memphis, and I absolutely fell in love. Drew and Ellie are just adorable when they perform together. Also when they’re just living and breathing. I mean, just look at them:

Image via

Image via

Anyway, here’s a sampling of some of my favorites from their major albums. Doesn’t it just make you want to drive to Jerry’s with the windows down, breathing in that humid summer air? Okay, you caught me—I’m ready for summer, y’all.

What do y’all think of Drew Holcomb & the Neighbors? Who are your favorite Southern-but-not-quite-country musicians? Is “Southern Bells” too cheesy?

 

Leave a Reply

